Promoting PicBrowser 2.2 (free for a while)

PicBrowser - Top 10 Utilities MicronesiaLast Monday I decided to setup a promotion for PicBrowser to publicize the features that were developed for this version.

The very first day (past Monday) I was pretty excited since I got an awesome promotion in twitter when they detected the price change (from Tier 1 to Free). Some guys with more than 10k followers twitted about the app even with a positive feedback (according to google translate since I don’t know a word from arab language). Reviewing iTunes I got like 380 downloads , not a very big number but it was positive enough. The second day (yesterday) I got a much more positive response according to AppAnnie and I had the following places:

AppAnnie Places August 27thThe app was positioned in the Top 100 for Utilities in 5 countries, and that was cool. I got an extra response that was quite exciting, a review from Mexico. Why was this exciting? Because I hadn’t a review from Mexico in like 4 years.

After reviewing iTunes Connect I got like 1.5K downloads in the second day, quite different than the previous promotion, and I’m guessing there’s something different in this version (for instance, I like a lot the Album Focus feature previously showed in youtube). These downloads had also a reflection in some places in the AppStorePicBrowser reached again a Top 10 in the Utilities category but this time in Micronesia.

August 28th AppAnnie Places This was kind of exciting since this is a very different tendency than the one from FebruaryThe app is in the Top 100 in Micronesia, but according to yesterday’s report most of downloads come from Japan. In fact, since I already knew that from a previous experience I made the promotion to last a little longer son the schedule difference could be addressed.

Right now downloads from USA are going down and I’m thinking that it reached its peak, since activity on twitter has already stopped and also I haven’t been spamming on any other site.

PicBrowser - Top 100 AppStore MicronesiaI hope to update tomorrow with data from iTunes, but these numbers (the positions) should not be reliable at all. There are countries that only needed like 10 downloads to position the app with USA and Japan requiring hundreds of downloads to position the app, and not even in the Top 100.